Introducing Craft Box Design Team – Summer 2016

Hello Crafters!

I have some exciting news for you – Craft Box has its own design team! Yay! I have received over 50 entries for the Craft Box Design Team and selected 6 wonderful crafters to design for Craft Box this summer. Here they are!

Row 1: Claire, SuzeJo, Tracy

Row 2: Linda, Marie, Julie

 

Here are a few words from our new designers about how they got into crafting:

Claire Chapman

I never crafted as a child as I’d always been told I was useless at art but started doing a little sewing about 20 years ago. I started stamping about 10 years ago now and I’m totally hooked. I don’t think I have a particular style but I do love mixed media projects and I adore colouring. I trained as a nurse and now work in mental health so crafting is my escape after a hectic day at work.

SuzeJo O’Connell

I started crafting many years ago, well as a child really.  I then became a nurse and used crafting as therapy with my Mental Health patients and it just envolved into what I do now….. my passion is altered art and i spend hours in charity shops finding bargains so I can duff them up, distress them and bring them back to life!

Tracy Hill

I worked full-time as a window dresser and traveled quite a lot so was very much on the go all the time, until I had my daughter. I became a stay at home mum and got bored so thought I would try crafting.  Through crafting I meet the most fantastic friends you could ask for that kept me crafting through good and bad times.

Linda Grover

I started crafting as therapy to escape from the stress of dealing with my daughter’s autism and learning disabilities. Now we craft together at our local craft shop at least 3 times a week and have met some wonderful, talented people.

Marie Willetts

My crafting story started in 2004 when I saw a scrapbooking demonstration on a well-known shopping channel. It was soon-to-be my sister’s 21st birthday and I thought it would be nice to give her a Scrapbook so I got busy creating one. Back then, all you needed was a piece of background paper, cardstock to matt your photo, a few simple embellishments and alphabets for your title. Now, 12 years on, my scrapbooking style has evolved and I use lots of different mixed media techniques such as painting, spritzing, pasting and stamping. Why do I love it so much? Well, one of the main reasons is because I get to relive happy memories and reminisce about the joyful times in my life. Scrapbooking makes me appreciate the small things in life like a single moment or saying. I can preserve and treasure it forever!

Julie McCaffery

I started crafting as a teenager, making rag dolls to earn extra pocket money to pay for my pony`s weekly keep and have been crafting ever since! I am happiest when I am creating, it helps me to get through tough times as it is the best therapy.

Here are some beautiful, May Craft Box project the DT team created already:

Happy crafting!

Anna from Craft Box

4 thoughts on “Introducing Craft Box Design Team – Summer 2016

  1. Well done girls and good luck, love these creations from the May box, cannot wait to get mine…look forward to more creations….x

    Like

  2. Congratulations ladies. I’m looking forward to seeing all your future creations. These projects today all look marvellous, beautiful and inspirational. You can clearly see the time and effort put into each one. X

    Like

  3. Congratulations Claire, SuzeJo, Tracy, Linda, Marie and Julie on being selected as DT members. I’d like to wish you all the very best for your stint on the Chronicles of Mixed Media & Craft Box UK’s Design Team. I am really looking forward to seeing what you create to inspire the rest of us over the coming weeks and months.
    I can relate to all six of you, which reassuringly indicates that mixed media attracts people with the same, or similar life experiences and interests as one another and myself.
    Happy crafting everyone!
    Christine xx

    Like

  4. I’ve never even heard about Craft Box until today. One of your new DT members, Claire, entered her project in our challenge blog and what a beautiful project she made. So, I thought I’d come check y’all out. I saw some might pretty crafty stuff!

    Like

Leave a Reply

